Day 22 – Evolved

Day 22 – How have you changed in the past 2 years?

I wish I could say that I haven’t changed in the last two years but that wouldn’t be true. Today I am stronger person than I was yesterday and even two years ago. I became more focused on work and school. I gained my independence and I learned how to stand on my own.

I left a relationship that wasn’t working out for me. It was the hardest decision that I ever made. When I had to make this call two years ago I couldn’t because I was blinded by love. The break up was horrible because I still loved him but I realized the relationship was detrimental. I was giving more than I was receiving and often times I was left feeling empty. I cried so many tears each night that those tears could stop droughts and end the water crisis happening all over the world. I wish this was me exaggerating but its not.

Instead of putting someone before myself I finally picked me over the last two years. I loved that I picked me. Within that relationship I started working on myself and I realized that I’m a pretty awesome person. Friendships were lost and I learned that its okay. I’ve made a new friend or two. I’m in a new relationship. I’ve laughed more than I have in the last two years. The smile that was stolen when I was a child came back. I’m loved for being me and not what I can bring to the table. It is an amazing feeling. There is no competition in this love.

In life we change to adapt to certain situations. We lose ourselves trying to please others. The minute I learned to stop doing this my life changed for the better. I’m glad that I took the chance to pick me.

When you have the opportunity to do better then grasp at it firmly. Change is good. Its hard to accept but the outcome is worth it. I promise you.

© Hikari Aie

Leave a Reply

