Day 21 – Telly Time

Day 21 – One of your favorite shows – and why

This one is hard because I watch about 50 to 60 plus different TV shows. I know it’s a lot but I really don’t spend all that time sitting in front a television. I promise. I watch so many shows that I have created a spreadsheet to keep track of all of them. The spreadsheet is well needed because I work three jobs and I can only catch up on TV shows when I’m completely free. Catching up on TV shows is rare for me. It’s like waiting for snow in the Caribbean.

Anyway, when I looked at this topic the first show that came to mind was The Secret Life of An American Teenager. Many people really didn’t like the show because it they felt that it promoted sex and teenage pregnancy, but I loved it. Much like the main character, I was struggling with being a single mom. This show made me feel like I wasn’t alone in everything that I was going through.

When this show started my son was seven months old and I was completely overwhelmed. He was always in and out of the hospital. At this point, I was struggling with just being around him and being his mom. I didn’t want to touch him or do what was needed to do but I did it regardless. I don’t think I was ready to admit that I was struggling with postpartum depression and even though its 8 years later, I’m still struggling.

Watching this TV show helped me a lot. I didn’t watch it for the drama. She struggled the same way I struggled and dealt with the backlash that I was going through. As stupid as it sounds, I felt like we were somehow friends. I guess it comforted me when I didn’t have anyone else.

I learned a lot from watching this show. I’m surprised it came to mind because the show ended in 2013 and I haven’t given it much thought. The show ended with everything working out for her and it’s something that I really want for myself. Looking back now, I’m glad I turned on the TV that night…who knows where I would have been today if I didn’t.

What is one of your favorite show?

© Hikari Aie

Leave a Reply

