Day 15 – Quote Me Now

Day 15 – Your favorite quote 

My favorite quote is as follows:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

If you click the quote it’s going to carry you to one of my previous blogs I wrote last year. This has always been my favorite quote.

This quote is the reason why I believe in love the way I do. It’s the love that I saw between my grandparents. It’s what kept me going when I was with my ex. I believed that somehow love would fix everything. I still do.

Growing up my grandparents had that fairy tale love. When I looked at them I saw the love that I wanted for myself. They went to church every weekend and had so many different quirks. My grandfather would watch TV and my grandmother would come behind him to kiss his cheek or rub his head.

I thought it was impossible for their love to transcend time but I saw it happen before my eyes when my grandfather was dying from cancer. I remember the night he passed that my grandmother told him that if he was ready to go that he could. She loved him regardless and she knew that he fought as hard as he could to be with her for as long as he could. She kissed him and said I love you. She told him it was okay to leave…that she would be okay. She took her  shower and by the time she got back he was gone. Just like that. She didn’t cry that night because she know they had accomplished everything together during their lifetime. He died knowing that he was loved more than anything in the world. They were soul mates.

So if you love someone, tell them. Someone I loved died without me getting the chance to say I love you too. Someone else walked away from me without fighting for our love because they made choices for me that I would have never agreed too.

This quote is my inspiration on what love should be and how to do it. It is never selfish to love someone. In my opinion, it’s selfish not to love at all and not fight for it. Everyone deserves this kind of love. If you’ve been lucky enough to find it as I have, don’t ever allow it to slip away.

© Hikari Aie 

One thought on “Day 15 – Quote Me Now

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Challenge Details: – Writing & More

Leave a Reply

