Cannot Be

Two tiny hands
Two little feet
Bright brown eyes
Sweet toothless smile
Fresh breath of innocence
All things that never were
All things that simply cannot be

To never hear the pitter patter of little feet
To never see the smudges left by tiny hands
To stare into your big brown eyes
To never hear that breathtaking giggle
All things that never were
All things that simply cannot be

My sweetest baby
How I long to hold you in my arms
How I long to simply watch you as you sleep
How I long to meet you…
But these are things that never will be
Things that simply cannot happen

Sweet Angel Baby
I would give life and limb to catch just one glimpse of you
To feel your chest rise and fall against mine
To cover you with kisses
And to gaze at you in amazement

You’re just beyond my reach
I feel as though I can just reach out and touch you
But my grasp falls short
I feel empty in the darkness

There is a gaping hole in my heart and soul
As the tears fall down my cheeks and onto my pillow
I swear I can hear you sigh
All these things that never were
All things that simply cannot be

© Hikari Aie

<- Previous
Ground Zero: My Decision

One thought on “Cannot Be

  1. Pingback: Ground Zero: My Decision | hikaricherryblossoms

Leave a Reply

