Kaleidoscope

unnamed

I am a kaleidoscope,
Always changing my appearance.
Maybe you think you’ve seen the real me,
But that claim is false.
Until I wish for you to know my secrets,
Turn your prying glances away.
Again I change,
Slipping from one facade to another,
Hoping to keep my true self
Intact and untainted by the world.

For if that singular true form surfaces,
That which I shield shall shatter.
If my soul breaks into shards,
Never will it be whole again.
Great as my hope may be
For this is not come to pass,
All I can do at the moment is wait.
Centuries come and millennia go-
Eternally I am but a shifting face.

Leave a Reply

