No Regrets

In life we have the world of choices to make. One of the big choices is choosing whether you want to settle or not.

I catered for a wedding and the grandmother of the bride told me her granddaughter’s story. A powerful one it was. This bride was with her high school sweet heart for years. This guy was honestly the love of her life so naturally when he asked for her hand in marriage, she didn’t deny it. They had two children together and there were finally going to be a family in the eyes of the church.

The dates were set and she found the wedding dress of her dreams. After buying this dress and some time before her wedding date came up, the guy killed her. Metaphorically speaking of course. He runs off with another girl and tells her he doesn’t want to be with her anymore.

Could you imagine the pain she must have felt? Hearing this brought tears to my eyes. That man was her knight in shining armor and he gave it all up for some other chick. Not only did he abandon her but he left his daughters behind as well. Although this broke her heart, she still loved him. She loved this man enough to try and end her life because she could not live without him. The pain was too great.

She survived the attempt and as time passed she met a new guy. He proposed and she said yes. This man loves her and her children. He takes care of those girls like they are his own. Nothing can tear him away from them. However, she still loves her ex but this new guy is there. He’s the one wiping her tears and making her feel safe and secure. He’s the one whose never leaving her side but her ex is the one who holds her heart.

I’m not going to say she’s crazy or stupid for still loving her ex because I understand what it feels like to love someone so much that you can never get over them. But I also know that I would never settle for someone just because they are there. I don’t think its right to do that to them. I guess this works for her because he knows and he’s patient and kind. He doesn’t mind waiting, even if it means it may be until death does them part.

Her story made me realize that I don’t want to settle for this or that. I may sound greedy but I want the best that life has to offer in love, work, everything. I would want you guys whose reading this to have the best in life as well. Everyone won’t have the same best but do things that you won’t regret. You only have one life to live so live it with no regrets.

I realized that I have in fact settled. I don’t want to. So I have taken the leap of faith and I’m moving to the states. I’m an island girl moving to the big sea. I love my home but the opportunities are limited. The states will have so much more to offer and I have delayed this move for 4 years thinking that it’s going to get better when it hasn’t. I’m not happy and I deserve to be happy. I deserve so much more than what I give myself credit for. I have a degree and I’m not using it. Makes the college thing pointless doesn’t it.

We live in a world where racism has taken over and a life means nothing. But every life counts. Every one counts. If today was your last day what would you do? I would go zip lining because its on my bucket list and I’ve been too afraid to do it. I would take my child to the Magic Ice Gallery or take him on a tour of the island by boat. Heck, I would send him to an ecological overnight camp. I would want to be happy.I would want to be so happy that it becomes contagious like chicken pox. Everyone would have no choice to be happy.

I’m not saying do something crazy like do drugs or join a gang. But live positively and give your best in any and everything that you do. Its hard. Life is hard but every step you take right now is a gigantic footstep into your future.

Never give up and think your alone. If there ever comes a time and you feel like that then message me. I’ll be here.

Leave a Reply

